Wizenoze is a rapidly growing global EdTech business

“In the past, censorship worked by blocking the flow of information. In the 21st century, censorship works by flooding people with irrelevant information. People just don’t know what to pay attention to, and they often spend their time investigating and debating side issues.”

Yuval Noah Harari, Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

Wizenoze was founded in September 2013 in Amsterdam by Diane Janknegt and Theo Huibers to overcome the problem described above. This problem is particularly acute for students seeking to find relevant, readable and reliable educational content to support their research and study. 

Students all over the world are faced with a flood of commercially-focused, inappropriate and irrelevant information when searching online. Wizenoze aim to address this by facilitating access to an internet tailored for education. We develop industry-leading technologies that enable students to search and find content online that matches their needs and reading skills.

Most importantly our technology works and improves outcomes for learners. Research from classrooms worldwide found that 91% of students with access to our Web for Classrooms product improved their learning results.

Furthermore, international recognition from the Disrupt 100, Forbes, Google, Pearson and as a finalist at the Next Billion EdTech Prize powerfully demonstrates the significant positive impact Wizenoze is having on global education standards.

TED talks

Finding the answer! A Better Internet for Kids

Hanna Jochmann Child-Computer Interaction

Meet the Team

Diane Janknegt
Parvinder Bhatia

Chief Operations Officer

parvinder@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Thijs Westerveld, PhD

Chief Science Officer

thijs@wizenoze.com   LinkedIn

Vaughn Dickson

Chief Technology Officer

vaughn@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Leila Walker, PhD
Hanna Jochmann, PhD

Operations Manager

hanna@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Gerben de Vries, PhD

Applied Scientist

gerben@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Maarten Sprenger

Chief Content Curation

maarten@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Jonathan Viner

Business Development

jonathan@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Max Coleman

Government and Corporate Partnership Advisor

max@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Rachael Chidgey

Vocational Researcher UK

rachael@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Becky Davies
Laszlo Csontos

Senior Backend Developer

laszlo@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Saranya Sreedharan

Software Developer

saranya@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Edin Hendo

UI/UX Designer
Frontend Developer

edin@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Adewale Adeoye

Frontend Developer

adewale@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Tjadine Ullmann-Carp
Ingeborg Versprille
Anna Pillar

Content Collection Assistant

anna@wizenoze.comLinkedIn

Our Advisory Board

Theo Huibers

Professor of Information Retrieval

LinkedIn

Alan Greenberg

Advisor and Director

LinkedIn

Terry Sweeney

BSc (Hons) MBA – Fellow of the Institute of Directors

LinkedIn

Sheetal Walsh

Entrepreneur, angel investor and social entrepreneur

LinkedIn

Franciska de Jong

Professor of Language Technology

LinkedIn

Dirk van der Mark

President of EADL

LinkedIn

Arjen P. de Vries

Professor of Multimedia Dataspaces

LinkedIn

Our partners

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This